AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF NEUROLOGICAL SURGEONS

KATHLEEN T. CRAIG, CEO 5550 Meadowbrook Drive Rolling Meadows, IL 60008 Phone: 888-566-AANS Fax: 847-378-0600 info@aans.org





CONGRESS OF NEUROLOGICAL SURGEONS

REGINA SHUPAK, CEO 10 North Martingale Road, Suite 190 Schaumburg, IL 60173 Phone: 877-517-1CNS FAX: 847-240-0804 info@cns.ora

> President BRIAN L. HOH, MD Gainesville, Florida

President REGIS W. HAID, JR., MD Atlanta, Georgia

May 17, 2021

The Honorable Terri Sewell United States House of Representatives 2201 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C 20515

The Honorable Ann M. Kuster United States House of Representatives 320 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable David B. McKinley United States House of Representatives 2239 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Brian K. Fitzpatrick United States House of Representatives 1722 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

SUBJECT: H.R. 3259, Non-Opioids Prevent Addiction in the Nation (NOPAIN) Act

Dear Reps. Sewell, McKinley, Kuster and Fitzpatrick:

On behalf of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons (AANS), the Congress of Neurological Surgeons (CNS), the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Pain and the AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves, we enthusiastically support H.R. 3259, the Non-Opioids Prevent Addiction in the Nation (NOPAIN) Act. Since neurosurgeons are on the cutting edge of innovative, non-opioid treatments for chronic pain and acute postoperative pain, we commend you for leading this initiative.

Your legislation would appropriately require the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services to provide separate Medicare payments for non-opioid treatments used to manage pain in both the hospital outpatient department and the ambulatory surgery center (ASC) settings. Under the NOPAIN Act, reimbursement for qualifying devices would be similar to the amount paid by a hospital or ASC for a medical device under transitional "pass-through" status. This payment would be implemented by creating new payment categories — Ambulatory Payment Classifications — for qualifying treatments. Also, payment for qualifying drugs and biologics would be equivalent to the current Medicare Part B payment amount for other separately paid drugs and biologics — which is based on a percentage of the product's Average Sales Price.

Currently, Medicare often denies the use of non-pharmacologic interventions such as neurostimulation to manage pain, despite substantial evidence supporting their use. Pain therapies, such as spinal cord stimulation, peripheral nerve stimulation and peripheral neurectomy, can provide sufficient pain relief to reduce the need for opioids in appropriately selected patients. Neurosurgeons — particularly those providing spine surgery — are also investing in Enhanced Recovery After Surgery, or ERAS, programs, utilizing extended-release local anesthetics (e.g., Exparel), regional infusions, and other agents to reduce the need for acute postoperative opioids. The NOPAIN Act would allow Medicare to provide adequate facility reimbursement for these innovative and effective alternatives to opioids.

Reps. Sewell, McKinley, Kuster and Fitzpatrick Neurosurgery Endorsement of NOPAIN Act May 17, 2021 Page 2 of 2

As leaders in the fight to end the opioid epidemic, organized neurosurgery has been very concerned about the current lack of financial support for non-opioid pain treatments. If adopted, we are confident that your legislation would help pave the way for these innovative approaches to treating chronic and acute postoperative pain.

Thank you for your efforts on this and other important health policy issues. We look forward to working with you to help move this crucial legislation through the legislative process. In the meantime, if you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to call on us.

Sincerely,

Regis W. Haid, Jr., MD, President

William Krenten

American Association of Neurological Surgeons

William S. Rosenberg, MD, President AANS/CNS Joint Section on Pain

Staff Contact

Katie O. Orrico, Esq., Director AANS/CNS Washington Office 25 Massachusetts Avenue, NW Suite 610 Washington, DC 20001

Email: korrico@neurosurgery.org

Direct: 202-446-2024 Cell: 703-362-4637 Brian L. Hoh, MD, President Congress of Neurological Surgeons

Domagoj Coric, MD, Chair

AANS/CNS Joint Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves